Just FYI for all you Oklahoma drivers wondering what the state minimums for insurance are, I have pulled the following, including the penalties for not having insurance. I would recommend that everyone carry more than the state minimum shown below as this is often insufficient to protect you or your assets if a serious injury occurs. Also, because some drivers carry these low state minimums, I encourage everyone to carry at least $100,000.00 in uninsured motorist coverage, also known as underinsured motorist coverage. This may be the only way to protect you if an uninsured/underinsured car, truck, and/or semi negligently causes injury to you. To view the limits and penalties, just click over to the next page.
All Oklahoma drivers and vehicle owners are required by law to carry the following minimum limits of liability insurance:
â€¢ $25,000 for injury or death of one person.
â€¢ $50,000 for injury or death of two or more persons.
â€¢ $25,000 for property damage.
You are also required by law to show valid proof of insurance to any law enforcement officer or representative of the Department of Public Safety when asked. You must also show proof of insurance to the other driver and other people involved if you get into an accident.
If you do not have the legally required liability insurance outlined above, you may be subject to a fine of up to $250, 30 days in jail, or both. In addition, you will face suspension of your license and vehicle registration if you are convicted of failure to comply with the minimum Compulsory Insurance Law or if you fail to produce proof of insurance to a law enforcement officer or Public Safety Representative upon request.